Cornwall County CC Championships 2016 - Report & Results


The amalgamation of the Cornwall County Cross Country Championships with the Frank Elford Westward Winter League has now become an annual feature on the winter calendar, providing Cornish athletes with an enhanced level of competition against Devon clubs in the League.

Held on Remembrance Sunday, a one minute silence was observed prior to the first race, not only to remember those that were lost in the conflicts but also to pay honour to Tony Lett, the County Coaching Secretary who passed away last week after years of illness and will be sorely missed by everyone who knew him. The two young athletes from the Aldershot Farnham & District Club who were killed in a road accident last week were also remembered.

Both Under 20 titles and the Senior Men’s went to Cornish athletes representing their Devon Clubs with the team medals equally shared between the two Cornish clubs of Cornwall AC and Newquay & Par

Clearest winners of the day came in the Under 15 Boys event where Harris Mier (Truro School) showed the pace which made him the fastest runner in Mansfield the week before in the National Relays. He strode away to the Title with a one minute win over Jacob McAlhone (CAC). A winning margin that Under 13 Girl Maisy Luke had achieved earlier in the shorter 3K race. She was second fastest at Mansfield last week.

There was an intriguing race going on at the head of the combined Under 17 and Senior Women’s race where Newquay & Par club mates Aidan Kent and Finn Birnie were shoulder to shoulder for the whole of the 6K race. Birnie was this week competing for Truro School. It was either athletes race to be won as they dropped off the final level for the long sprint to the finish but it was Kent who had the better finish to claim the Under 17 Championship Title.

In this combined race, Tess Masselink (Tavistock) took the Under 20 title with a classy run amongst the Under 17 Men, Sian Temple (N&P) looked to be getting back to full fitness to claim the Under 17 title with the Senior Women’s Champion, Emma Paull (Hayle) the next female across the line. A massive 162 athletes completed this race.

The Senior Men’s event also had almost 170 complete the 8K three lap race. Mark Jenkins (Bideford) had his usual inter club rivalry at the front end and for the second year carried off the Men’s title. Jack Williams (Plymouth) took the Under 20 title at 11th overall, just holding off the Men’s silver medallist Jordan Clay on the line.

In the younger age groups, Jacob Lamboll competing for Truro School was the Under 13 Champion, Tia Brown (N&P) coped with two consecutive days of competition after competing for Bodmin School at Taunton the day before to claim the Under 15 title. There were two Under 11 Development races which were well attended. Jude Hardy (Hayle) won the boys race and Jemma Pratt (CAC) the girls.

Results Top Three

(BHS = Budehaven School; Bid = Bideford AC; Bod = Bodmin College; CAC = Cornwall AC; ECH = East Cornwall Harriers; HRR = Hayle; N&P = Newquay & Par AC; NRR = Newquay Road Runners; PAC = Plymouth AC; Pen = Penailr Sshool; TAV = Tavistock AC; TS = TRuro School; TT = Tamar Trotters; Wade = Wadebridge School)

Under 11 Girls – 1 Jemma Pratt (CAC) 2 Holly Jenkin (HRR) 3 Holly Reid (TT). Teams: 1 N&P  2 HRR

Under 11 Boys – 1 Jude Hardy (HRR) 2 Joshua Eyre (N&P) 3 William Greenwood (N&P). Teams: 1 N&P 2 Bod 3 HRR

Under 13 Girls – 1 Maisy Luke (CAC) 2 Erin Devery (CAC) 3 Jessica Spry (N&P  Teams: 1 CAC 2 N&P 3 CAC ‘B’

Under 13 Boys – Jacon Lamboll (TS) 2 James Horton (CAC) 3 Zac Clemens (CAC). Teams : 1 CAC 2 Bod 3 Wade

Under 15 Girls – Tia Brown (N&P) 2 Grace Davidson (ECH) 3 Louise Mitchell (Pen) Teams: 1 N&P 2 CAC

Under 15 Boys – 1 Harris Mier (TS) 2 Jacon McAlhone (CAC) 3 Archie Whitefield (BHS). Teams: 1 CAC 2 Bod

Under 17 Women – 1 Sian Temple (N&P) 2 Katie Hughes (CAC) 3 Rhianna Giles (N&P) Teams: 1 N&P 2 CAC

Under 17 Men – 1 Aidan Kent (N&P) 2 Finn Birnie (TS) 3 Kristof Klimek (CAC). Teams: 1 N&P 2 CAC

Under 20 Women – 1 Tess Masselink (TAV)

Under 20 Men – 1 Jack Williams (Ply) 2 Tom Slattery (CAC) 3 Isaac Parker (N&P)

Senior Women – Emma Paull (HRR) 2 Heidi Tregenza (CAC) 3 Amy Sole (CAC). Teams: 1 CAC 2 NRR

Senior Men – 1 Mark Jenkins (Bid) 2 Jordan Clay (CAC) 3 Paul Smith (CAC). Teams : 1 CAC 2 CAC ‘B’ 3 NRR

Veteran Women – W35 Kathryn Burgess (CAC) W40 Joanna Herd (NRR) W45 Caroline Steven (TAV) W50 Sarah Myford (N&P)

Veteran Men – M40 Paul Smith (CAC) M45 Adrian Ball (CAC) M50 Dave Buzza (CAC) M55 Martin Exley-Dean (TAV)